We find in Musnad Ahmad

حَدَّثَنَا يَزِيدُ، أَخْبَرَنَا إِبْرَاهِيمُ بْنُ سَعْدٍ، عَنْ صَالِحِ بْنِ كَيْسَانَ، عَنِ الزُّهْرِيِّ، عَنْ عُرْوَةَ، عَنْ عَائِشَةَ، قَالَتْ: دَخَلَ عَلَيَّ رَسُولُ اللهِ صَلَّى اللهُ عَلَيْهِ وَسَلَّمَ فِي الْيَوْمِ الَّذِي بُدِئَ فِيهِ، فَقُلْتُ: وَارَأْسَاهْ، فَقَالَ: ” وَدِدْتُ أَنَّ ذَلِكَ كَانَ وَأَنَا حَيٌّ، فَهَيَّأْتُكِ وَدَفَنْتُكِ ” قَالَتْ: فَقُلْتُ غَيْرَى:  كَأَنِّي بِكَ فِي ذَلِكَ الْيَوْمِ عَرُوسًا بِبَعْضِ نِسَائِكَ. قَالَ: ” وَأَنَا وَارَأْسَاهْ، ادْعُوا لِي أَبَاكِ وَأَخَاكِ حَتَّى أَكْتُبَ لِأَبِي بَكْرٍ كِتَابًا، فَإِنِّي أَخَافُ أَنْ يَقُولَ قَائِلٌ، وَيَتَمَنَّى مُتَمَنٍّ: أَنَا أَوْلَى، وَيَأْبَى الله عَزَّ وَجَلَّ وَالْمُؤْمِنُونَ إِلَّا أَبَا بَكْرٍ “

Ayesha says that the day the disease which caused death of Holy Prophet started, He came to my house and said: Oh my headache. I also said: Oh my head. Upon this Holy Prophet asws said: I wish what has to happen should happen in my life, and I prepare you well and bury you. I said: Your intentions are something else, you will marry the same day and and spend night with lady. Holy Prophet asws said: Oh my head! Call your father and your brother so that I write letter for abu Bakar because I fear that the one who would say will say, and the one who would desire would desire that I am more rightful to caliphate; and Allah and all muslim will not accept anyone other than abu Bakar

[Musnad Ahmad, urdu, vol 11, page 306]

Please have a look at Chain of This Narration as We will use it in at the end of This Article.

حدثنا يزيد بن هارون أخبرنا إبراهيم بن سعد حدثنا صالح بن كيسان عن الزهري عن عروة عن عائشة

Urdu translator Molvi Zafar Iqbal says Narration is Sahih as per Muslim and ibn Hibban

Sheikh Shoaib says Chain is Saheeh on condition of Bukhari and Muslim
[Musnad Ahmad with research of Sheikh Shoaib, vol 42, page 50, narration 25113]

We also find similar narration in Urdu version, 11/518

حَدَّثَنَا مُحَمَّدُ بْنُ سَلَمَةَ، عَنْ مُحَمَّدِ بْنِ إِسْحَاقَ، عَنْ يَعْقُوبَ بْنِ عُتْبَةَ، عَنِ الزُّهْرِيِّ، عَنْ عُبَيْدِ اللهِ بْنِ عَبْدِ اللهِ، عَنْ عَائِشَةَ قَالَتْ: رَجَعَ إِلَيَّ رَسُولُ اللهِ صَلَّى اللهُ عَلَيْهِ وَسَلَّمَ ذَاتَ يَوْمٍ مِنْ جَنَازَةٍ بِالْبَقِيعِ، وَأَنَا أَجِدُ صُدَاعًا فِي رَأْسِي، وَأَنَا أَقُولُ: وَارَأْسَاهْ قَالَ: بَلْ أَنَا وَارَأْسَاهْ ثم (2) قَالَ: ” مَا ضَرَّكِ لَوْ مِتِّ قَبْلِي، فَغَسَّلْتُكِ وَكَفَّنْتُكِ، ثُمَّ صَلَّيْتُ عَلَيْكِ، وَدَفَنْتُكِ؟ ” قُلْتُ: لَكِنِّي أَوْ لَكَأَنِّي بِكَ، وَاللهِ لَوْ فَعَلْتَ ذَلِكَ لَقَدْ رَجَعْتَ إِلَى بَيْتِي فَأَعْرَسْتَ فِيهِ بِبَعْضِ نِسَائِكَ، قَالَتْ: فَتَبَسَّمَ رَسُولُ اللهِ صَلَّى اللهُ عَلَيْهِ وَسَلَّمَ، ثُمَّ بُدِئَ فِي وَجَعِهِ (1) الَّذِي مَاتَ فِيهِ

Ayesha states that Holy Prophet asws returned on the day of His death from Baqi’i to my House. I had headache so I said: Oh my head. He said: Rather I have headache. Then He said: What harm would happen if you die before me, I will bath you, give you burial dress, then pray for you, and bury you. I replied: By God! if You do this, You will return home as bridegroom and spend night with some ladies. Ayesha says: Holy Prophet asws smiled. Then the disease started which caused His death.

Sheikh Shoaib says This Narration is Hasan.
[Musnad Ahmad with research of Sheikh Shoaib, vol 43, page 81-82]

Apparently, This conversation between Holy Prophet asws and Ayesha was “not liked” by some of the Greats of AhluSunnah. And they seem to have tempered the Narration. For example, Imam Muslim adds this Narration in His Saheeh, 4/1857, in the following form

حدثنا عبيد الله بن سعيد حدثنا يزيد بن هارون أخبرنا إبراهيم بن سعد حدثنا صالح بن كيسان عن الزهري عن عروة عن عائشة قالت قال لي رسول الله صلى الله عليه وسلم في مرضه ادعي لي أبا بكر أباك وأخاك حتى أكتب كتابا فإني أخاف أن يتمنى متمن ويقول قائل أنا أولى ويأبى الله والمؤمنون إلاأبا بكر

Ayesha says that Holy Prophet asws told me in His illness: call Abu Bakar and my brother, so that I write…….

Please have a look on the Chain I presented from Musnad Ahmad

حدثنا يزيد بن هارون أخبرنا إبراهيم بن سعد حدثنا صالح بن كيسان عن الزهري عن عروة عن عائشة

Compare the two, and You see that there is just one Narrator added between Imam Muslim and Yazid bin Haroon, that is, UbaidUllah bin Saeed. And He is a Narrator of Saheeh Bukhari and Muslim. Dhabi introduces him in the following manner in Sair A’laam Nabala, 11/405

الإِمَامُ، العَالِمُ، الحَافِظُ، شَيْخُ الإِسْلاَمِ، أَبُو قُدَامَةَ عُبَيْدُ اللهِ بنُ سَعِيْدِ بنِ يَحْيَى بنِ بُرْدٍ اليَشْكُرِيُّ مَوْلاَهُمُ، السَّرَخْسِيُّ، نَزِيْلُ نَيْسَابُوْرَ

The Imam, The Scholar, The Hafidh, Sheikh of Islam….

So Where has the conversation between Ayesha and Holy Prophet (asws) gone??? Why has it been skipped and tempered???